Organiser’s comments

Thank you to everyone for coming to the event, the first in the Park Race series. All was going to plan until we heard about the 3 controls that had been vandalised in the short period of time before the first runners set off. We should all be grateful to Don McKerrow and Geoff Goodwin for reporting control 3 so promptly and to Petter Andreas Bergh for reporting missing controls 20 and 22 immediately he finished. Replacement controls were able to be put in place before many of you reached those controls and apologies for those who were adversely affected. We have’t had vandalism like this in the 25 years or so that we have been using SI. One of the 3 controls was located yesterday in nearby undergrowth. Thanks go to all the DFOK helpers as well as to Andrew Johnson and Sue Carter who helped to back fill on registration whilst the missing controls were being replaced. I hope you enjoyed your runs and are looking forward to the rest of the series of races all over London. Go to www.parkrace.org  for details.

Andrew Evans
DFOK

Marlborough House School Orienteering

On 16 May 2019 DFOK assisted Marlborough House School, Hawkhurst, with running an orienteering activity day. Over the day near 300 children from Nursery to Year 8 participated in a variety of orienteering activities. The results from the day are available on the school website in the parental portal section.

Success at the British Championships

Congratulations to Sheralee Bailey who achieved 2nd place in W45L at the British Long Distance Championships held at Kilnsey Moor in the Yorkshire Dales on 5th May. The terrain was largely runnable open moorland with significant height gain and loss on each course. The start was some 150m higher than the finish leading to some tricky steep downhill legs towards the end of the course. Sheralee was only 18s behind, an excellent performance in terrain well suited to the SYO winner.

London Marathon 2019

Congratulations to the four klubb members, or those with entries through DFOK, for completing this years London Marathon. The times are below:

·      2:45 Antoine Pesenti

·      3:33 Nick Marsden

·      3:43 Rob Causer

·      5:06 Ian Catchpole

Calendar 2019

 

Date Event Type Venue Organiser Planner Controller
Sun 13th Jan Regional - Level B Chelwood Andrew Evans David and Julie Lobley Susan Crickmore (SO)
Thu 17th Jan Local - KNC Leybourne and Leybourne Lakes Julie and Hayley Collins Julie and Hayley Collins Neil Speers*
Sat 2nd Feb
Klubb - Coaching Day Ightham Allison Page Allison Page  
Sat 16th Feb Local - KOL Beacon Wood Geoff Goodwin Geoff Goodwin David Dawson*
Thu 21st Feb Local - KNC Shooters Hill Geoff Goodwin Geoff Goodwin Neil Speers*
Sat 2nd Mar Local - NWK Danson Park Colin and Rosie Merry Colin and Rosie Merry Chris Baker*
Mon 18th Mar Teach Orienteering Part 1 Woodland Farm Trust Andrew Evans Josh Jenner  
Thu 21st Mar Local - KNC Brasted Chart Neil Speers Neil Speers Andrew Evans*
Sun 24th Mar Local - Level C Balcombe Neil Speers David Dawson Les Hooper (SO)
Sat 6th Apr Local - NWK Foots Cray Meadows Andrew Evans Andrew Evans Chris Baker*
Sat 27th Apr Local - KOL

Lullingstone Country Park

David Collier David Collier David Dawson*
Sun 28th Apr London Marathon Woolwich Neil Speers    
Sat 11th May Local - NWK Shooters Hill Maxime Pesenti Antoine Pesenti Chris Baker*
Tue 21st May Local - Park Race Danson Park Andrew Evans Andrew Evans David Dawson
Sat 1st Jun Local - NWK Joyden's Wood Allison Page Allison Page Chris Baker*
Sat 15th Jun Local - Kent Junior Orienteering Festival Foots Cray Meadows Andrew Evans Andrew Evans Neil Speers*
Sat 29th Jun Local - KOL Jeskyns Community Woodland Andrew and Maddy Pitcher Andrew and Maddy Pitcher David Dawson*
Sat 6th Jul Local - NWK Jubilee Park Neil Gemmell Neil Gemmell Chris Baker*
Tue 9th Jul Local - Park Race LLoyd Park Roman Bednarz Roman Bednarz David Dawson
Sat 13th Jul Local - Bike Event West Kent Downs Andrew Evans    
Sun 22nd Sep London City Race Weekend Greenwich Park Andrew Evans Geoff Goodwin Mike Solomon (SAX)
Sun 29th Sep Klubb Championships Weald Park HAVOC Event    
Wed 16th Oct Klubb AGM TBC      
Sat 16th Nov Local - KOL Brasted Chart David and Julie Lobley David and Julie Lobley David Dawson*

* primarily for risk assessment purposes